rogerR.N. Morris was born in Manchester, England, in 1960 and now lives in North London with his wife and two children. He sold his first short story to a teenage girls’ magazine while still a student at Cambridge University, where he read classics. Making his living as a freelance copywriter, he has continued to write, and occasionally publish, fiction, including Taking Comfort (2006) written as Roger Morris.

One of his stories, “The Devil’s Drum,” was turned into a one-act opera, which was performed at the Purcell Room in London’s South Bank. Another, “Revenants,” was published as a comic book. A Vengeful Longing is the follow-up to his first novel written as R.N. Morris, the historical crime novel A Gentle Axe. A Razor Wrapped in Silk, the third in the series featuring Porfiry Petrovich from Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment, will be published in April 2010.

A Vengeful Longing was short-listed for the 2008 CWA Duncan Lawrie Dagger for best crime novel, runner-up in New York Magazine’s Culture Awards for 2008 in the best thriller category, and Highly Commended for the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Crime Novel Award 2008. It was also picked out by Crime Squad as one of the top ten crime books of 2008.

The Cleansing Flames was shortlisted for the 2011 CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger Award.

His new novel, Summon Up The Blood, will be published in April 2012.

He has recently collaborated with the composer Ed Hughes on an opera.

Some interviews:


The Rap Sheet.

The View From Here.

Preston Writing Network.


All content © Copyright 2018 by R. N. Morris.
Subscribe to RSS Feed – Posts or just Comments

Powered by WordPress Designed by Colourform Based on Workaholic by Graph Paper Press